Open main menu

Anson County property tax

Published: 15.04.2023

Example of Anson County Property Tax Calculation

Anson County calculates property taxes based on the assessed value of the property. To determine the assessed value, the county appraiser assesses the property value based on factors such as location, size, and condition. This assessed value is then multiplied by the county tax rate, which for Anson County is currently set at $0.68 per $100 of assessed value.

For example, if a property in Anson County is assessed at a value of $100,000, the property owner would owe $680 in property taxes for the year. It is important to note that property taxes may also be subject to additional taxes, such as city or school district taxes, which can vary depending on the location of the property.

If you want appeal your property tax assessment - contact your local tax assessor.

Anson County Property Tax Rates

Here's a formatted table listing the Anson County property tax rates in US dollars per $100 of assessed value:

Tax Rate per $100 of Assessed Value
County General Fund $0.73
Anson County Schools $0.825
Anson Community College $0.0875
Fire Districts $0.10 - $0.1263
Solid Waste $0.095
Towns/Cities Varies by location

Please note that the tax rates for fire districts vary, ranging from $0.10 to $0.1263 per $100 of assessed value, depending on the specific district. Additionally, the tax rates for towns and cities within Anson County will vary based on location.

Who sets property tax rates in Anson County ?

In Anson County, North Carolina, the property tax rates are set by the Anson County Board of Commissioners. These rates are reviewed annually and adjusted as needed to meet the county's financial needs. The commissioners typically hold public hearings to gather input from residents on any proposed changes to the property tax rates.

The property tax is an ad-valorem tax, meaning that it is based on the value of the property. The county property appraiser assesses the value of the property and applies the appropriate tax rate to determine the tax owed. Property owners in Anson County typically receive their annual property tax bills in August and have until January 5th of the following year to pay them.

It is important to note that property tax rates can vary depending on the location of the property within Anson County. The county is divided into six taxing districts, each with its own tax rate. Property owners can find their specific tax rate by using the Anson County Tax Office's online search tool or by contacting the office directly.

Homestead exemptions in Anson County ?

To help homeowners in Anson County, North Carolina, here is a useful table with all the county-specific Homestead exemptions and deductions available. Each column contains important information to consider when applying for these programs:

Exemption Eligibility Amount Notes
Elderly or Disabled Exemption Over 65 or permanently disabled $25,000 Must own and occupy the property as primary residence. If combined income is over $29,600, exemption is reduced.
Circuit Breaker Tax Deferment Age 65 or older, or totally and permanently disabled Taxes are deferred until property is sold or ownership changes. Must have owned and occupied the property for at least five years, and combined income must be less than $44,350.
Disabled Veteran Exclusion Honorably discharged veterans with a service-connected disability Up to $45,000 Must have been a resident of North Carolina at the time of entry into service, and must provide proof of disability to the county.

Note: Homestead exemptions and deductions can change from year to year, so make sure to check with the Anson County Tax Office for the most up-to-date information.

By taking advantage of these programs, Anson County residents can reduce their property tax burden and increase their financial stability. It's important to understand the eligibility requirements and application process for each exemption or deduction, but the benefits can be well worth the effort.

When is Anson County Property Tax due ?

Anson County Property Tax Due Date and Payment Methods

Anson County property tax is typically due on September 1 of each year. However, if September 1 falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day.

There are several payment methods available for Anson County property tax, including:

  • Online Payment: Property owners can pay their taxes online through the Anson County website. This method accepts credit/debit cards and e-checks.
  • Mail-In Payment: Property owners can mail in their payment to the Anson County Tax Collector’s Office. The payment must be postmarked by the due date to avoid penalty.
  • In-Person Payment: Property owners can pay in person at the Anson County Tax Collector’s Office during regular business hours.
  • Drop Box Payment: Property owners can drop their payment in the drop box located outside the Anson County Tax Collector’s Office. This option is available 24/7.

It’s important to note that if a property owner fails to pay their property tax by the due date, they will incur a penalty fee. The penalty fee is 2% of the unpaid tax for the first month and an additional ¾% for each additional month. Therefore, it’s recommended that property owners pay their taxes on time to avoid additional fees.

For more information on Anson County property tax and payment methods, visit the Anson County website or contact the Anson County Tax Collector’s Office.

If you have more questions - contact your local tax collector.

How is Anson County Property Tax penalty calculated ?

Anson County Property Tax Penalty Calculation

When a property owner fails to pay their property taxes by the due date, Anson County imposes a penalty fee. The penalty fee is calculated based on the amount of tax due and the number of days past the due date.

Here's an example of how the penalty fee is calculated:

Property Tax Due Due Date Days Past Due Penalty Rate Penalty Fee
$1,000 Jan 1 30 0.5% $15

In this example, the property owner owes $1,000 in property taxes and the due date is January 1st. They fail to pay on time and are 30 days past due. Anson County's penalty rate is 0.5% per month, which equals 6% per year.

To calculate the penalty fee, you first need to calculate the monthly penalty rate:

0.5% / 30 days = 0.0166% per day

Next, you need to multiply that rate by the number of days past due:

0.0166% x 30 days = 0.5%

Finally, you need to multiply the penalty rate by the amount of tax due:

0.5% x $1,000 = $5

So in this example, the property owner would be charged a penalty fee of $5 in addition to the $1,000 in property taxes.

It's important to note that the penalty rate can vary depending on the county and state. It's always best to check with your local tax office for specific information regarding property tax penalties.

We recommend contacting the Anson County Tax Office or a local tax professional for the most up-to-date and accurate information.

Anson County tax offices:

Author: Michael Davis
Bio: Michael is a civil servant based in the United States with a deep understanding of property tax. He uses his expertise to educate homeowners and investors on the intricacies of the property tax system through his blog. Michael believes in empowering his readers with knowledge to make informed decisions about their property taxes. When he's not working, Michael enjoys hiking and exploring the great outdoors.